The Affordable Art Club: Volume 1

Hey guys,

As promised, here is the first chapter of my Affordable Art Club series. To kick things off, I’ve decided to “start from the beginning”, as it were, and introduce you to a few artists that have held a special place in my heart for YEARS. I have possibly the most assorted taste imaginable, so hopefully there’ll be something for everyone in this mix. 

 

Joel Birch

SHINEONMOCK_1024x1024
Shine On – Joel Birch
joel-birch-002
Part of “Hopeless and Romantic” Exhibition – Joel Birch
SetWidth562-LTDBirchMerch2
Love Conquers All – Joel Birch

 

Joel, Joel, Joel. Where do I even begin to describe my how much I adore and respect this man. Too much? Perhaps, but it’s true. Not only is he the lead singer any my favourite band, but Joel is an incredibly talented typographer, illustrator, graffiti artist and photographer. On top of all this and the band gig, he also has his own clothing brand, Fairly Ordinary, which shows a darker side to his creative expression. The majority of Joel’s work is lyric-based, whether they are his own or the beautiful thogutsh of others, and I have always admired his attention to detail and experimentation when it comes to typography. I’m the proud owner of 4 of his prints (2 fine art, 2 poster style) and they are worth every cent. His silk screen prints start at $100 and are of impeccable quality, but if you’re wanting to snag one of his works for a little cheaper his poster prints range from $10-25. He also recently released a film photography book which I’m yet to purchase, but it’s on the list! Find all the good shit here.

 

Rik Lee

rik2
Night Train – Rik Lee
rik5
Left Handed Studies – Rik Lee
rik4
The Woods – Rik Lee

Have I already mentioned Rik on here? Probably, because his work ROCKS. I found him through the magical mind field of instagram back in 2012/13 and absolutely fell in love. Of course, it took me over a year to finally buy anything from his shop because I couldn’t decide on just one. I wanted them all, and ended up buying 3 of his lovely prints on a 3 for 2 deal (that’s still running, btw) and am still one very happy customer. Rik’s work is bright, quirky and downright dreamy. I’m a huge fan of his non-dominant hand sketch series, and the best way to keep up with him and all of his WIPs are via his instagram account. I always make sure to watch his stories, as he does a lot of behind the scenes and asks his followers for their input on his drawings, which I love. The majority of his prints are A3 and are $35, which is such a bargain considering what beautiful quality they are, and if you’re feeling spendy he also sells a range of coasters, lapel pins and clothing, which are all available here.

 

Ali Gulec

ali gulec 1
Skull 2 – Ali Gulec
gramophone al
Gramophone – Ali Gulec
room skull ali
Room Skull – Ali Gal

I discovered Ali on Society6 back in 2013 or so, and fell completely in love with his “Skull 2” print. It was one of the first nice art prints I’d ordered and because of its peculiar size (my fault for choosing it, of course) it sat in its postal tube for about 3 years. A lot of Ali’s work on Society6 has skulls as a reoccurring theme, and has made quite a name for himself with turning something once associated with death and loss into something beautiful and interesting. Ali’s prints range from $20-$50 depending on size, and because they’re on Society6 you also have the added option of getting them on t-shirts, wall tapestries, cushions and a whole lot more. Find all his work here.

 

I hope you enjoyed this as much as I loved babbling about these guys. Stay tuned for Volume 2!

 

2 thoughts on “The Affordable Art Club: Volume 1

Leave a Reply

