The Affordable Art Club: Prologue

If youโ€™ve been hanging out here for a while, then youโ€™ll know how much I love collecting art. My obsession began at a young age; from ripping out funky pictures from magazines and carefully hiding them in a manilla folder, to covering my walls in Blunt band posters, to having a go of creating some pieces of my own, artwork has always been a major part of my space.ย 

Iโ€™m a visual person, meaning 2 things: 1) I like to have pretty and inspiring things on display, and 2) I am constantly having to battle with my inner hoarder on howย many of these things I really need – because this gal does NOT like clutter. My personal style and taste has definitely evolved over the years, but one thing remains: I still like my walls covered in pictures.

These days, said pictures have been sourced from all over the world and come in many different forms, whether they be fine art prints, photographs, oil paintings or mixed media pieces. Iโ€™m a sucker for anything that has soft colours/watercolours mixed in with sharp lines and edgy aspects. Which is possibly the vaguest description I could offer, but hey, thatโ€™s my taste!ย 

So in light of this love, and because I have neither the cash flow nor the wall space to keep up with my findings, I have decided to start a new little segment on the blog: The Affordable Art Club. The name is pretty self-explanatory, but I think itโ€™s important nonetheless. We are living in a time where we have the art world at our finger tips, being able to watch faraway exhibitions on Youtube and gawk over snaps from the Louvre that pop up in our news feeds (and give us instant holiday envy), and that also comes with another added bonus: accessible and affordable art pieces. Hooray!

When I first made the transition from band posters to a more mature taste, I didnโ€™t know where to look. Instagram was obviously an amazing tool (and I have in fact found the majority of my favourite artists through that handy little square-space!) but now has become quite overwhelming when trying to search for stuff.ย 

Enter, the ever trusty Affordable Art Club, where Iโ€™ll be showcasing all of the cool artists, designers and stores I discover, with all of their links attached (because thereโ€™s nothing more annoying than finding a piece that you adore and having NO FREAKING CLUE where to find it). Iโ€™m hoping to add to this series every 4-6 weeks, which means I will have absolutely no excuse not to uncover some new gems for you in between posts.ย 

Iโ€™ve scheduled the first proper instalment for Monday in two of weeks, so until then…

Happy art hunting!

Viv xo

 

Leave a Reply

