Why It’s Important To Have Those Lazy Days

NOTE: This post was first written in January, but still oh so relevant now.

 

Hi all,

So, to set the scene: I am currently in my last few weeks of uni holidays and have been nowhere near as productive as I’d hoped.

When the semester wrapped up in December, I wrote myself a list of all of the things I wanted to accomplish each week until I went ‘back to school’. The short story: it didn’t get done.

As I sit here writing this, I’m looking at a pile of unfolded clothes, a floor that desperately needs vacuuming (what’s new?) and an overnight bag that never quite gets unpacked these days. I’ve taken an unplanned break from devouring my #SummerReadingList and am rewatching Sex and The City for the zillionth time (real time update: two months later and I’m only up to season 5, so I’m not complete addict).

But what relevance does any of this have in regards to well, anything? Well, as usual, my brain works in random and let’s face it, completely bizarre ways, and my train of thought can jump from a good song to a grocery item to needing to get my hair done (always). 

I was mid-house clean when I got thinking about all of the rad mums that I follow on Instagram. They of course, all have eerily adorable babies, and are often posting charming pictures and videos of themselves and their little ones doing the general everyday stuff that seems boring by yourself but is utterly sweet with a small human in tow.

At first I thought “I hope I’m in a good enough financial position when I [EVENTUALLY] have a baby so I can stay at home and hang out with them while they’re little” and then it clicked – those mums are literally with their kids ALL OF THE FUCKING TIME.

You’re probably shaking your head at me right now, but hear me out, alright! It’s so easy to look at all those cute family snaps and forget that these women would be grateful to have an uninterrupted shower, let alone having whole entire nights of vegging out and binge-watching their favourite TV shows.

I’m not saying that parenting looks like hell – hard work, sure – but it made me realise how bloody lucky I am to have nights like these where I can be as lazy as I want, without having to worry about putting anyone to sleep but myself. Being young and childless is actually so damn blissful compared to the whole saga of responsibilities and choices that come with raising little gremlins, and yes I can say that because I am the oldest of 8 and know how much of a handful children can be. 

Anyway, I’m off point (again: what’s new?) – but what I’m trying to say is that it’s easy to take all this easiness for granted. And on the other end of the stick – it’s also incredibly easy to feel guilty about these ‘lazy nights’. Hell, I’ve been silently cursing myself since the day I put away my uni books. 

It’s no secret that we put a bit too much pressure on ourselves to be constantly working towards our goals and going to this place and catching up with that friend that we forget to just have some darn downtime and enjoy it.

Right now, whilst we’re child/business/study free, is the time to take a deep breath and RELAX. Do all the things you crave when life gets that little bit too hectic. If you’re feeling tired after a big day at work you should rest. It’s not exactly rocket science, and yet we all make excuses or find ways to feel guilty for taking time out. Despite how very efficient it would be, we can’t expect ourselves to run at 100% all of the time; at least not without completely malfunctioning down the track (refer to Mr Robot further visuals).

So if you’re reading this and 2017 is already feeling a little bit too crazy (or you’re like me, and still can’t quite understand how it’s MARCH ALREADY), then please put everything aside and just chill out for a while. Take a walk. Phone a friend. Lay on the floor. Listen to a record. Watch the moon. Sit in a comfy chair in an empty room. Enjoy the nothingness.

Because I guarantee you in 10 years time, when things are full steam ahead and we’ve all got our shit together, we’ll both be squishing some time in to read that book and wishing for the good old lazy days of our 20’s. 

 

Till next time,

Viv  x

Leave a Reply

