July Favourites

Annnnnd we’re back for another monthly favourites post! I’ve decided to not follow a specific structure, and just let the topics change month to month, depending on what I’ve been really into. Feel free let me know what you guys have been loving during this rainy as heck month. Enjoy 🙂

 

Book: ‘Amazinger Face’ by Zoe Foster-Blake

Amazinger-Face-Cover-Small-400x497

So it’s been a pretty slow month in the reading department. Asides from smashing out this month’s Collective Hub, I have barely read anything that isn’t on a screen. And in walked this absolute GEM. Zoe has recently become one of my favourite people EVER, which is a little absurd considering we’ve never met, but I like to think of her as my cooler, sassier spirit animal. Anyway, Amazinger Face is an updated version of her best-selling  ‘Amazing Face’, and after absolutely devouring the first chapter I now swear by it. Useful, practical advice for gals of all ages, filled with a perfect amount of cheekiness and sass. I now spout out Zoe’s advice to anyone who’s willing (or not willing) to listen, because my eyes are now completely opened to the importance of all things skincare. A must read for anyone with skin.

Girl Crush: Megan Ellaby 

P6303006.jpg

So I found this absolute babe through my suggestions panel on Youtube, and boy am I glad I took a gamble and looked at an unfamiliar channel (I know, it’s lame. But you’d be surprised at how boring Youtube can get when you’ve whizzed through your subscriptions and can’t think of anything interesting to search up) because Megan is RAD. Hailing, and currently living in, Manchester over in the UK, Megan seems to have the coolest life. Super rad warehouse-vibe flat: tick. Adorable muso boyfriend: tick. Heaps of travelling and music festivals: tick. Successful blogger with ACTUALLY cool style: tick tick tick.

You could say I’m a little obsessed, and have been surfing through her Youtube channel and blog, Pages By Megan, and have decided that I need to be friends with this gal, stat! Not only does she have such a unique, quirky style, but she also has killer music taste, and has made me once again contemplate a good old fashioned fringe.

 

Show: Stranger Things

strangerthingsposter.jpg

As you see on this totally rad poster, season 1 of Stranger Things was released on Netflix last Friday. I rocked up to James’ house on Sunday afternoon and he was just about to start the second episode, so without having a clue what it was about, I nestled in and fell COMPLETELY in love with the opening theme song, it’s so spooky yet enthralling…. It’s really hard to explain, but I am simply OBSESSED. We watched the entire season overnight, and I was quite disappointed to discover that it had literally just been released, so it’s too early to tell if season 2 is a go (Netflix, you would be batshit crazy not to go with this one). I don’t want to give too much away, because I went in never having even heard of the show, and finished each episode wanting more and more and more. It’s set in the 80’s, so not only is the fashion right up my alley, but some of the main characters are witty 12 year olds who are total nerds, and drop Star Wars and comic book references like there’s no tomorrow. *Would recommend watching with someone who’s hand you can grip during the scary parts. And yes, there are plenty of scary parts. Boyfriends and brownies will help you through this, and ya know, the pure love you will develop for this show.

 

Documentary: Blackfish

MM_Blackfish_Horizontal_Poster

Another beauty I streamed on Netflix over the weekend, and I finished it feeling a complicated mixture of anger, frustration, sadness and admiration. Killer whales are such magnificent creatures (even though I am still a little mad at them for targeting other mumma whales and their calves – simply for sport 😦 ) and do NOT deserve to be locked up by money-guzzling institutions such as Seaworld. I vaguely knew Blackfish was about, but it completely blew me away. It is such a well-made, fascinating documentary that really pulls at the heartstrings and leaves you feeling completely shocked that you hadn’t heard about all of this before. A definite must-watch, even if you’re not a massive animal lover – it’s so eye-opening in relation to the animal entertainment industry, and will definitely make you swear off Seaworld, the bloody dodgy bastards. 

 

Other Groovy Things:

Glitter Socks – One of the many fab styling tips I picked up from Megan Ellaby was to accessorise with socks! Sounds pretty obvious, right? Well, I in fact ADORE statement socks, but have always been too chicken to wear them or actually bother looking around for anything special. Until I was browsing on ASOS last night, and may have purchased 5 pairs of novelty socks. Oops. No, not oops! Because I will look funky as f*ck when I’m rocking them with my Docs or Converse. And who doesn’t love to add a bit of glitter to their everyday outfit? 

image1xxl.jpg
Buy these babies HERE

Patches – I am all about the customised denim jacket-trend that is FINALLY happening, especially when it means I can cover my own jacket in cute as heck patches. I’m not usually one to be bothered about trends, but they certainly do make it easier to stock up on products when you do like said trend, and I am going all out with buying/liking/screenshotting cool patches from around the world to add to my oversized denim jacket. I’m kinda proud of myself for learning how to hand sew again (not that it’s hard – but I haven’t picked up a needle since my Year 9 Home Economics class) and now have a nice little hobby to keep me busy on those lonely week nights when I want to be glued to the couch.

il_570xN.971671916_bz7p.jpg
Buy this baby HERE 🙂

Neon Signs – I don’t know why I love them so much, but there’s something so cool and sexy about neon signs. And not because most of them are situated in dodgy back alleyways or advertising for strip clubs. If they’re done right, they can be really darn groovy. I’m especially drooling over the slogan or saying styles, such as a few below. I’ve been TRYING to convince James to make me one, but that one is still a work in progress. I guess for now I can just continue staring adoringly at the gems below…

0b856445dc3eadc128f8cdac57e4fc0e.jpg
Image via Pinterest
tumblr_nba9ndb8by1s322uwo1_500.gif
Image via Tumblr

 

5012e49e6f9ad4a403383e4710c6dfe3.jpg
Image via Pinterest

Playlist:

Some months my favourites list will be full of new tunes, and others will be a sweet recycle of the classics. Here’s some honourable mentions from July:

This Could Be Heartbreak – The Amity Affliction

Too Good – Drake ft. Rhianna

Overwhelmed/ Ill Prepared – Luca Brasi

Anything Near Conviction – Luca Brasi

20 Hour Drive – The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus

Wall Fuck – Flume

Maestro – Hans Zimmer

7 – Catfish and the Bottlemen

Clair De Lune – Flight Facilities ft. Christine Hoberg

 

Till next time, 

Viv   x

Leave a Reply

