The Power of You

An ode to all of those boys who’ve captured our hearts – and don’t quite realise what that means.

 

This post is a little different. The idea came to me approximately five minutes ago, in that weird state between being awake and having a nap where your brain is gliding between 17 different trains of thought. Honestly, now that I’m fully awake, I don’t  know where that track was taking me, but I knew I had to get the idea down before I lost it forever (an unfortunately regular occurrence).

So, “The Power of You” – a title we usually see on the cover of self-help or meditative books, promising that through self-love and being in touch with ourselves we will become happier people. Well, that’s the plan anyway. But this post is for the other ‘you’. The ‘you’ that we think of when we hear a cute song lyric, or read a Beau Taplin poem or wish to be spooning us at night. We’ve all got one of those ‘you’s. Some people are lucky enough to see theirs everyday; others occasionally, and some not at all. Some are torn apart by seas, or families or maybe their ‘you’ is a famous music producer (yes, Flume, I’m looking at YOU – I’m yours when you want me). Whatever the case, there’s always someone that drifts into your mind when you least expect it. Or maybe you’re purposely thinking of them. Or maybe you hear and feel these things and dream about a person you haven’t met yet.

What a wonderful thought, to know that your soul mate is still out there, dreaming you up in their fantasies.

I guess, the point of this is to say, to you, to be gentle with me. With all of us, if you know how we feel. It’s a tough world out there, and liking someone is anything from easy these days, so I think it’s important (incase we are someone’s ‘you’) to be kind and appreciate when someone does something nice for us. I feel like I am rambling, but it’s hard to get a feeling out and expressed via a laptop. I should be better at it since my brain never shuts up, but I’m not. Apparently, boys are even worse at communicating their feelings so good luck to us all!

I’m sure that half the people reading this will think it’s a load of whinging girl bullshit (you’re not far off there, dude) but to the others – you know what I’m talking about. It’s crazy how you can go from being completely content and satisfied with your life, to meeting someone who flips the whole universe upside down. Suddenly, everything can be looked at from a different angle. Songs appeal to you differently. Days seem brighter, or darker, depending on how things are between you both. You find yourself reminiscing on conversations had the night before, and secrets and memories shared in the early hours of a Tuesday morning.

It’s totally fine not having – or wanting – someone, but when you do… gee, there’s nothing quite like it. Every time I see the word ‘you’ now; in a poem, in a song or in a book; written by the author to their ‘you’, well, I think of you. Every. Single. Time. And then there are the times when I write with you in my mind. I paint with my water colours and dream up cute little phrases or search for lyrics to communicate all of these bubbling thoughts in my head. I wish I was a better writer so that I could fully capture how you make me feel. Yes, I love you. No, you don’t love me back. But we still see each other, and have a nice time. And that’s okay. Not everyone gets a perfect textbook relationship. This is the real world, after all. I’m just learning to practice my gratitude towards our situation.

Because there sure is a helluva lot to be grateful for.

 

 

This…. didn’t go where I was expecting it to. I wanted to write almost a letter, to all of those ‘you’s out there, but I kind of got caught up thinking about… you.

So maybe this post makes complete and perfect sense after all. Because when I planned to write something completely different and advice-like, I ended up writing about you. Go figure.

 

P.P.S. I wrote this post over two months ago, on a day quite like today. I was hesitant to publish it because it’s a lot more personal and a little more deep than my regular content, but I hope you enjoyed all the same. x

Leave a Reply

