6 Go-To Items That Every Girl Should Have In Their Wardrobe

For days when you have “nothing to f***ing wear!”

 

Ladies, we’ve all been there. It’s Saturday morning and you’ve got a few errands to run, a late lunch to attend and maybe a movie date thrown into the weekend mix. You’ve let yourself have a sleep in – because it’s the weekend and that’s the only excuse you need – and you’ve been leisurely sipping on tea and scrolling through instagram when – crap! If you don’t get your shit together now then you’re going to be running late, and although your Peter Alexander set is cute, it’s not really appropriate to be seen in public before sundown.

You open up your slightly chaotic wardrobe and stare at the contents for inspiration and NOTHING is jumping out at you. You want something cute yet casual, that in no way looks like the work attire that you’ve been doomed to wear every other day this week so far. You begin experimenting, and think maybe today you’ll become a bohemian goddess or a rocker or go for a preppy chic look – but nothing is working! You are officially RUNNING LATE, and you are no longer feeling daring or creative but desperate and trying to brush your teeth and find a decent bra at the same time.

Insert your ‘old faithfuls’ or ‘back up plans’ or in my case, ‘the only clothes I don’t have to think twice about throwing on’. We all have them, and if you’re lucky enough then you have a couple of outfits on rotate that you shamelessly resort to when times get tough. If not, then read ahead my dear friend.

Being someone who can be pretty darn body-conscious at times, I know how hard it is to find clothes that you can thoughtlessly chuck on without worrying about if they are bunching in the wrong spots or if you’re boobs look good in it and blah, blah, blah.

So here’s 6 clothing items that have saved my ass on countless occasions, and prevented quite a few wardrobe-related meltdowns.

 

1 x Pair of comfy, high-waisted denim shorts

It took me a little while to find a REALLY good pair, but when I did, holy shit they changed my life. And that’s not even an exaggeration. I’m so glad that high-waisted things have been back on trend, because for gals that like to accentuate their waists but also have their bellies and hips covered (i.e. me. You will never catch me wearing low rise jeans – EVER), high-waisted shorts are your best pal. You can wear them with literally any kind of top or shirt, either tucked in, out or cropped, and they also look fab at the beach when you want to run around in your ‘kinis but still feel covered.

My personal favourites are the ‘Stevie’ style by Factorie, which are sadly  discontinued (the other day I found them on a rack plastered with clearance stickers. I’m not gonna lie, I mourned the end of an era), so it was a good thing that I bought FOUR different colours when they were popular. I actually lived in them for all of last year, and they were the first thing I added to my packing pile for Bali.

12509494_10208816475433153_3176470701093550698_n
Elephant approved.

1 x 2 sizes-too big boyfriend-esque button up

I always thought that wearing baggy shirts were only flattering on girls with slender arms and visible collarbones, who somehow could look fab and effortlessly cool without looking swamped in fabric; but boy was I wrong. It turns out that literally ANYONE can rock a button up shirt, and the key is to upsize. Having a button up that fits well is always handy to have around (cue job interviews or fishing trips where you need a long sleeve shirt) but it somehow always seems to look more business than casual (at least that’s how it’s always been for me!), especially if it is a stiffer fabric.

It took me a while to find the perfect boyfriend button up (and yes, like those infamous jeans, I’m calling it a boyfriend button up because it’s supposed to look like you just stole it from your lover’s floor and dashed off without a second thought – pants not always included), with a few satisfactory candidates found before settling my eyes on a denim-wash blue number from Cotton On. Again, I found this one on the clearance rack  and got a size 14 (I’m usually a 12 in tops), even though I wanted a 16 for extra floopiness. Thankfully, it was designed as a loose fit, so I can wear it to the beach sans pants or half tucked into my trusty high-waisteds for that cool ‘on vacay’ vibe. Add a pair of Birkenstocks and some cute sunnies and you are good to go, no tears necessary.

12506833_10208848623236828_1173476993_n
15 bucks in the pre-xmas sales. Not bad at all.

1 x Day OR night appropriate dress

This one kind of used to be viewed as the Northern Lights, you knew it was out there, but you just hadn’t seen it yet. For years I was easily able to find dresses that were cute for the day, but not really appropriate for dinner or parties or nights on the town. OR I would find a totally killer nighttime number that was way too glam to pair with sandals and a cafe lunch.

Enter, Spell and the Gypsy Collective, a brand that I have been drooling over for nearly 3 years who only keep producing better and more dreamier products (and completely obliterating my savings account). As the bohemian trend skyrocketed, so did Spell’s exposure, and the fact that it is born and raised in Byron makes the sister-run company that much cooler. I could easily write a whole post on how much I adore Spell, but what I love in particular is their dresses. Yes, you are paying a little more (either that or eBay becomes your best friend), but their stock is worth every penny and I have NEVER seen someone look bad in a SATGC frock.

Being a shorty, I am a big fan of their Playdresses, which are released in a new pattern/slightly tweaked style at least twice a year. My fave is the Desert Wanderer Playdress in Sunset, which I have worn more times than all of my other dresses combined, both during the day and at night clubbing. It’s just so darn flattering! And cool, and can be paired with any type of shoe imaginable and still look rad. Just keep your eye out and Buy.One.Immediately. You won’t regret it.

12516051_10208848737359681_1104654601_n
One of the many times I busted this baby out in 2015. Wearing a size Medium.

1 x Figure-flattering black skirt

With every gal having a unique figure and taste, it’s hard to recommend a specific style with this one. But having a classic black skirt that’s not too short and not too long, is seriously a blessing. I bought this baby from Dotti back in 2012 and haven’t found a better one since. I wish I was as forward-thinking as I am now and snagged 2 or 3 to have some other colours (I also have it in mustard yellow which is a tad trickier to style for an everyday look) but I’m just grateful I have this baby. It’s basically my go-to for town when I don’t feel like wearing a dress. Or pretty much any occasion where I can’t wear shorts and don’t want to wear a dress. So start hunting far and wide, because putting in the effort to find the perfect black skirt is SERIOUSLY worth every second of trawling the shops.

12539971_10208848800481259_1877858110_n
It looks rad with any top, thank god!

1 x Killer leather jacket

This is something you can go as basic or as all-out as you like. I know girls who have found their dream leather jacket from Jay Jays for $40, and others who have fallen in love with a Boda Skins baby for $700. My dream jacket has always been a classic almost cropped black number, and again, I searched far and wide and tried on endless styles that were ‘okay’ and ‘could work’ but my heart wasn’t committed, so neither was I.

Last year, the fabulous online boutique Somethin Somethin granted my wish and started stocking this magical little thing, and for $89 I wasn’t going to complain (in fact, I clapped and cheered when it arrived in the post). In the cooler months I looked for any excuse to wear it, and it instantly punked up any outfit I threw together. Absolutely a must.

12498504_10208848794561111_340572166_n
Paired with my trusty high waisted shorts. What a surprise, haha.

1 x Band shirt

Now this option may not appeal to everyone’s tastes, so you could easily swap it with a classic and comfortable (very important) black, white or striped t-shirt. It doesn’t really matter, as long as you have one shirt that you always feel good in and will work with your staple bottoms. For me, this is a men’s size medium Milestones band shirt. My friend and I picked up one each at a gig that they were a support act for back in 2012. Taylor unfortunately lost hers, but mine has been glued to my side ever since. It’s the kind of shirt that I love SO much that I won’t even lend out to friends. Terrible, I know, but I’m just too darn attached. So much, in fact, that I’m wearing it right now as I type this. If that isn’t proof of how valuable a good band tee is, then I don’t know what is.

12516195_10208848814361606_979773132_n
Shameless bathroom selfies because this shirt is life.

And there you have it folks! As always, I hope you enjoyed this extensive, overly-detailed post, but as least you know I genuinely love these items and I’m not just recommending you the same list of crap that I saw in Cosmo last Tuesday (not that I read that magazine anyway, but you get the point!). To compliment the ‘everyday’ look nicely, I would suggest investing in a pair of classic black sneakers. I’m current living in my beat up Converse, and they have been so loved that there are holes in the sides and the soles are about to fall apart, but they’re way too comfy to give up yet.

Happy shopping/hunting!

 

Viv  x

Leave a Reply

