The Benefits of Being Single in Your (Early) Twenties

Yes, it’s another one of THOSE posts. But I feel like it’s an important topic to talk about, particularly when I can now say I am in my twenties (when the hell did THAT happen?). And I’ll admit, I’m only 20, so this perspective could totally change over the next 9 years, but right now, it’s relevant as fuck. So, here’s some things I’ve noticed (that are totally rad) over the last 8 months of being 20 and single:

1 – You don’t have to answer to anyone. 

It’s probably the most cliched one in the book, but man does it feel good! Take it from someone who spent their first 2 years of adulthood in a serious (and controlling) relationship – being able to do WHAT you want, WHEN you want to, is the best feeling in this world. Want to watch a whole series of Skins in one night? Sure. Feel like adding a tub of ice-cream to that night? Go right ahead. Feel like spending all of your money on shoes and alcohol? Just do it babe, it’s totally your choice and there’s absolutely NO ONE who can judge you for it (parents do not apply to this scenario haha). I’m sure there’s a lot more I could add to this, but I think you get the point.

2 – There’s no one questioning your spending.

Ugh, this one REALLY used to bother me. Especially when I used to be really good at saving my money. I’m pretty shit at it now, but that’s not the point. I pay the bills on time, I go on holidays, I live comfortably – so I can buy a bloody Spell and the Gypsy Collective playsuit if I please!

3 – You can have as many god-damned guy friends as you like!

Now, please don’t take this as some sort of hatred towards boyfriends. I know there are a lot of genuinely great guys out there who are comfortable with their partner having close male friends; but mine wasn’t and it nearly cost me a lot of important friendships with people I consider to be brothers. So it’s pretty nice to be able to go to the movies and grab a feed with them, or stay up all night watching movies or go out clubbing and not have to worry about the lecture you’ll get tomorrow morning about how you were the only girl in the group.

4 – Planning holidays is a breeze.

Aside from having to deal with that awkward “mountain trek for one please” thing (it happened to me when planning activities for Bali – a minor side effect of my single status), it is SO nice to be able to make all of the decisions by myself and not have to worry about whether my man will like the hotel, or want to do that activity and so on. Bali in particular is going to be great – purely because I got to choose EVERYTHING and schedule the trip around what I like. Don’t get me wrong, I love going on holidays with friends and family, buutttt I’m pretty darn excited about 2 weeks of exploring and doing things because I want to do them.

5 – You can get in your car whenever you want and JUST DRIVE.

Maybe this doesn’t apply to everyone, and having a car is kinnnnddddaaa a prerequisite, but it sure is nice to be able to jump in the car and go visit my parents, or drive to the beach, or to somewhere new, just because I feel like it. Annnndddd then not have to worry about texting anyone to say where you are, or where you’re going, or whether or not you’ll be back in time to cook tea. I don’t know about you guys, but driving alone with the music up loud and the windows down is my favourite kind of therapy. It’s so relaxing and the BEST for thinking about stuff.
So there you have it folks. 5 reasons why I am thoroughly enjoying being single at the moment. I’m writing this post at such a bizarre time, and not because it’s nearly 1am in the morning but because recent events have led me to wonder whether or not I am ‘ready’ to be seriously involved with a guy again. And to be honest, I’m still not 100% sure. Like I am but then…yeah, well you guys don’t need to hear about my petty/non-existant boy dramas.

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed reading this post and if you’re a single guy or gal like me hopefully it was a nice reminder about how rad our lives really are right now. Stressing about relationships at this age just seems so crazy to me at the moment. I’m sure I’m biased, but I do love all this freedom that’s going on. Exhibit A: me currently typing up this post, watching Hot Rod, on a Friday night, and not giving a care in the world.

Over and out,

Vivienne

Leave a Reply

