Words of Advice + The First 3 Months of 2015

So I’m currently listening to a delicious mix of Sticky Fingers and John Butler Trio and and mid-way through one of my uni subjects (but when am I not these days? haha) and I began daydreaming (nothing new there either) about seeing John Butler live and about how lucky I am to have seen them live and how I’m just generally LOVING life at the moment.

I thought about putting it into a Facebook status, but I wasn’t sure what to say without looking like a preacher or a wackjob so I of course, gravitated straight towards my blog. I just think it’s important to recognise how damn happy I am at the moment. And not even in an “excited for this” or “currently in love with that/so and so” way, just in a “man, life is good” way. I can’t actually remember ever feeling so happy and relaxed and just genuinely GLAD about how life is going for me. Of course I have my stressful days and grit my teeth when my cat starts clawing the couch, but overall, I don’t really have anything to complain about. Except bad grammar, there’s always time for a vent about that. Haha, kidding. Everything that I wanted as a teenager: good laptop, a nice apartment of my OWN (sharing with my brother doesn’t count haha), my own car, a good job, awesome friends and studying at uni – has all happened, and in a pretty short space of time. I graduated year 12 feeling absolutely lost and alone, and 2 years later I have finally sorted my life out, a fact that I’m sure my parents are very relieved about, haha.

I never really pictured what life would be like at 20, but I certainly didn’t expect myself to be getting out of a long term relationship, mending countless friendships, moving to CAIRNS of all places, and doing an early childhood degree. I like to think that if the past me saw me now, she would be pretty damn impressed. I think I’ve become a pretty groovy human being, and there is absolutely nothing wrong with thinking that about myself. Hey, if we don’t love ourselves, who will?

There’s obviously lots of things that I would like to change in a perfect world, but at the moment, I’m pretty darn content. I can comfortably fit into my favourite pair of high-waisted pants, and I have enough jumpers to start my own clothing store, so I thinking wanting anything else would just be a little greedy.

ANYWAY, I have totally and utterly drifted away from the reason that I wanted to write this post in the first place. My point to saying all this is to remind all of those girls and guys going through a shitty break up or tough time in life, that things DO get better. As soon as you remove those toxic assholes from your life there will just be a gigantic weight off your shoulders, and you will start finding yourself smiling about ridiculous things and wanting to dance around the house and sing along to your favourite song in the supermarket. Life can be really great if we want it to be, and all you have to do is be strong enough to walk away from those things/people that are dragging you down. Because there’s plenty of them, believe me. It’s dangerously easy to have a down day and to succumb to those dark thoughts for several days more. And we can’t rely on anyone else to fix our problems, no matter how comforting having an outside source to talk to may be. The only power that matters in this world is the one that YOU have to control your own life.

I guess the moral of this story is, to please, please, PLEASE, stop listening to that negative friend or bully or boyfriend or thoughts inside your head. As soon as you start caring about yourself more than anyone else, everything will be at least 10 times easier. I have absolutely nothing against having a partner and a family, but especially when we’re young and trying to find ourselves, negativity is the absolute LAST thing that needs to get thrown into the equation.

OK, so I think I’ve rambled enough. If you’ve made it through the last 721 words, then thank you. And I just want to let you guys know that I’m not trying to brag about my life in any way, but I am proud of how far I’ve come in the last 2 years, and even more so in the last 5 months. It’s nearly April now and the first quarter of my year has been fantastic. I started out January 1 with an early trip to the reef with my family, and tonight I’m going to enjoy a delicious roast vegetable medley and attempt to finish my HPE course for the week.

You don’t have to be going on spectacular adventures every day to enjoy your life, and despite being relatively hungover today, I had a pretty rad Monday. That’s what it’s all about folks; enjoying your Monday. And your Tuesday and Wednesday, and every damned day until you go onto the next world.

So tonight I’m sending out positive vibes to all of my readers and every person who needs some happiness in their lives. Stay strong, guys. And for now, you can browse some of my adventures from the past 3 months.

Sayonara,

Vivienne

New Year’s Day on the reef
New Year’s Day on the reef
My 20th Birthday View
My 20th Birthday View
First attempts at crocheting
First attempts at crocheting
Finally got a gravel road to the farm!
Finally got a gravel road to the farm!
Also attempted to use a sewing machine after a good 5 years.
Also attempted to use a sewing machine after a good 5 years.
The day we picked up our baby girl, Cinna
The day we picked up our baby girl, Cinna
Visiting my Uncle’s property on the Tablelands
Visiting my Uncle’s property on the Tablelands
Dinner in Spell Designs
Dinner in Spell Designs
Backyard views
Backyard views
Celebrating Ethan’s 18th
Celebrating Ethan’s 18th
One of my 4 feral brothers
One of my 4 feral brothers

IMG_0760_2

Red Arrow Lookout, Cairns
Red Arrow Lookout, Cairns
Red Arrow Lookout, Cairns
Red Arrow Lookout, Cairns
Before Cinna destroyed my plants.
Before Cinna destroyed my plants.
Daisy and her baby.
Daisy and her baby.
Fresh colour.
Fresh colour.
Palm Cove
Palm Cove
Palm Cove Dreamin'
Palm Cove Dreamin’
Barron Gorge
Barron Gorge
Barron Gorge
Barron Gorge
I saved this pic the day I decided on going to Splendour this year.
I saved this pic the day I decided on going to Splendour this year.
Milla Milla Teahouse
Milla Milla Teahouse
Some magical lookout on the Palmerston Range
Some magical lookout on the Palmerston Range
Such a gem.
Such a gem.
Pre John Butler
Pre John Butler
Our loungeroom is finally completed.
Our loungeroom is finally completed.

IMG_1318

Some of my best pals, Blue Steeling that shit.
Some of my best pals, Blue Steeling that shit.

IMG_1340

For documenting all my adventures.
For documenting all my adventures.
Ask me about uni and I will reply with this face, NEARLY every time.
Ask me about uni and I will reply with this face, NEARLY every time.
Work dinner
Work dinner
Last night, before Montezuma’s cocktails and a fabulous night with my BFL and our new Melbourne pals (that we have no way of contacting haha)
Last night, before Montezuma’s cocktails and a fabulous night with my BFL and our new Melbourne pals (that we have no way of contacting haha)
New snorkel gear, as per Dad’s request.
New snorkel gear, as per Dad’s request.
Crystals and head wraps; today I am in my element.
Crystals and head wraps; today I am in my element.
Leave a Reply

