6 Movies I’m Bound to Watch When I’m Feeling…

So I’ve started writing this post on a rainy Thursday afternoon with a couple of hours to kill before I have to go pick my little brother up. It’s the perfect movie watching weather, and as always, I am completely indecisive as to what to watch. I don’t know if anyone else experiences these moods, but I have no joke, at least 20 DVDs sitting on the shelf next to me and none of them are even looking remotely appealing at the moment. I feel like watching something new, and yet all the new releases on the internet aren’t sparking my interest.

Anyway, enough of the whining. Here are 6 of my go-to movies for when I can actually make up my mind.

Hope this post isn’t too boring! Enjoy x

1. When I’m feeling Nostalgic: 10 Things I Hate About You

Probably the best 90’s classic of all time. If you haven’t been watching it since you were in nappies, then you probably aren’t that cool. I remember sitting at my Nana’s house when I was around 4 years old, absolutely mesmerised by watching this movie. I thought it was the most raddest thing to date (plus it totally showed me how to make a paintball fight romantic *sigh*). It’s always been one of those movies that people can bond over, and if you don’t like it everyone seriously questions your sanity. Heath, JGL and a perfectly mixed soundtrack. What more could you ask for in a movie?

2. When I feel like watching a book-to-movie adaption: If I Stay

Okay so admittedly, I’ve only seen this movie once. But damn, did it hit the spot. I didn’t once think “was this how it happened in the book” or “omg Adam totally wouldn’t have said that!”. I think the cast was picked perfectly, and as expected, I bawled my eyes out for over half the movie. But in a good way. Kind of. It’s one of those movies that leaves you feeling super grateful for what you have in life, and start appreciating your family and all the mushy stuff. If you haven’t watched it, do it. And bring tissues.

3. When I’m in the mood for a bit ofΒ romance: Love Actually

Definitely my favourite Christmas film to date (followed closely by ‘The Grinch’, haha). Again, it’s a movie I’ve watched endlessly since I was young (and probably shouldn’t have been watching it at all haha) and it still hasn’t lost that magic touch. It’s got such a great British cast, and makes you feel all warm and fuzzy by the end of it. If you haven’t seen it, you live under a rock.

4. When I feel like watching something I’ve seen 10,000 times: The Devil Wears Prada

I can nearly do a monologue of this whole movie. And that’s not a joke. I can remember every scene before it takes place, the order of all the songs and pick out any phrase from it in an instant. It’s a little embarrassing, but there are a lot worser movies to be obsessed with (Frozen, anyone?). Thinking of it now still makes me secretly wish that I worked for Runway Magazine.

5. When I’m In need of some comedy of my life: Hot Rod

Comedy is not generally my thing, but this movie never fails to make me laugh. It is over the top ridiculous, with some very inspiration ballads thrown into the soundtrack, and I can’t help but introduce it to every new person I meet.

6. When I feel like watching a movie I secretly love (oops): L.O.L

I’m not sure how many people even know that this movie exists (especially because it never made it to cinemas in Australia) but I saw it on the plane heading to the states and kind of fell in love. As in, I watched it again on the flight back – twice. And countless more times after that. I would like to remind everyone of the fact that Miley Cyrus was still in her glory days and Douglas Booth is just hot. So it’s not that ridiculous that I love it. It kind of reminds me of the teenage life that I never had (aka, one where I had cool friends in a band and actually could go to gigs and stuff). A girl can dream.

And there you have it! Six completely random, non-Oscar winning movies that I love.

Hopefully I don’t sound too invested, haha.

Love always,

Vivienne

Leave a Reply

