Reflections and Resolutions – A Fresh Start

Hi All!

Welcome to The Everyday Gal’s Blog, a great escape in the making.

I’m not going to lie – I haven’t done any blogging, let alone writing, in a really long time. I guess you could say that life had swept me away for the last two years, but I finally am feeling grounded and focused enough to dedicate some time to my passions.

So, 2014. How would I describe it? Exhausting. Long. A lot of moving around. Although I’ve still got another 2 moves coming ahead (helping my parents move house, then moving into my own place) it feels like things are gradually starting to sort themselves out. The Christmas holidays came exactly when I needed them to this year. Just prior to them, I had ended a 2 and a half year relationship, moved out of the place I was living in (a.k.a. my boyfriend’s) and brought a new car. The month of December could’ve gone a lot differently for me if I had decided to stay, but damn am I glad I left.

I am now looking towards a new beginning in the literal term – a new city, new job (hopefully I find one soon!) and new friends. For the first time in my life, I am also completely 100% sure on what I want to do with my career, which is something that I’m sure my family is VERY relieved about.

Throughout school, I wanted to be a fashion designer, photographer, music journalist, novelist, typographer, councillor, psychologist, teacher…. The list goes on and on AND ON. I guess I’ve been so all over the shop because I’ve been searching for my passion. I am a firm believer in never having to work for a day when you’re doing something that you love. Unfortunately, I’m only 19 (20 tomorrow – eek!) and am yet to have that luxury. But I’m getting there, I promise.

Even though I am currently doing my teaching degree, Interior Design is the main goal. I’ve always loved homewares, making colour schemes and generally picking out decorations for the house (not to mention the copious hours on Sims 2 making mansions. Don’t judge – we’ve all been there!) but never realised that you could actually make a career out of that. I know, I’ve been living under a rock Β  for the past 19 years. Blame my hometown, it’s basically a rock; an isolated, hot, red rock. Yuck!

Anyway, now that I have finally figured out what the heck I want to do with myself for the next 70 odd years (I’m being optimistic here – I really need to start doing yoga for that to happen) I can actually build some foundations and start networking. I’m not too sure if there actually are many interior designers in the Cairns region (that’s in Queensland, Australia for all the lovely folks that don’t know) but if you are in the field and by some miracle happen to read this, please contact me! It’s always been so rare for me to find friends who actually have similar interests, so any help or inspiration is genuinely welcomed.

Now, about the blog… I made this website as a space where I can post my inspirations, have general babbles, and hopefully connect with some like-minded people. I still wouldn’t say that I have any actual “theme” yet, but I expect it to be a combination of interiors, homewares, fashion, all things boho and beach related, and maybe even some health tips.

I realise that it will take a while to build up followers, but if anyone has any ideas on what they would like to see or even if they just want a chat, feel free to speak up. One of my resolutions for the new year is to be more open to meeting new people, so I better stay true to my word!

So, for those of you who have actually reached this stage of the post, here are my resolutions, or goals, as I like to call them (it makes them seem more official to me, haha).

In 2015, I want to:

  • Go to Bali – at least once!
  • Concentrate on my studies
  • Make changes to achieve a healthier lifestyle
  • Use ‘Frank’ coffee scrub once a week
  • Do yoga regularly
  • Look after myself, and don’t be afraid to put me first
  • Save for my interior design course and TEFL course in Bali
  • Spend more wisely
  • use more organic/natural products
  • Write more
  • Schedule plenty of ‘me’ time
  • Finish my crochet blanket
  • Go on more adventures and bush walks
  • Less procrastinating!
  • Get back into photography
  • Start building an interior design network

Well lovelies, that’s all from me for the rest of the year! (Ha, sooo many people must be using that joke today). I hope you all have a fantastic New Year’s Eve and start the new year off fabu

Leave a Reply

